top of page
Search
  • Hannah Westner

Tomatoes anyone?

Keeping up with the bounty!

We have been blessed with an abundance of tomatoes this year! Fencing the chickens in on the raised beds last winter gave us the gift of very fertile soil this year and everything we planted in those beds has grown wonderfully!


We planted about seven different types of tomatoes. We have had several delicious varieties that I would like to try to find again next year. Several came from the Fredericton Botanic Garden plant sale last spring. Many thanks to the volunteers who grew all those lovely seedlings. I'll definitely be going back there next year!

My favourite was the Sunrise Bumblebee, an heirloom plant that was loaded with beautiful yellow and orange striped cherry tomatoes (thanks to Revival Seeds in NS for this beautiful image).


We had really good, consistent success with the Tiny Tims and Romas. One really large beefsteak type did pretty well, except for a few with blossom end rot. And we had one larger tomato type which would consistently split on the shoulders, so they weren't so nice.


As I clean up the garden, I'll be looking for my plant markers which have been lost all summer under the lush green growth (despite regular pruning)! Once I find them, I'll make note of the ones I want to grow (and not grow) again next year.

But as is so often the case in the northern hemisphere, much of our crop has not had time to ripen. And now the frost is upon us, and like so many farmers before me, I'm figuring out how to "make a silk purse out of a sow's ear" and turn these green tomatoes into food.


Yesterday I made green tomato pie! And just as the recipe promised, it was pretty much indistinguishable from apple pie. Husband was skeptical of the idea but approved of the final result!


I see many more green tomato adventures in our future!




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page